Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Ouch!

It doesn’t matter if a child is prepubescent, adolescent, or adult, they don’t always realize that Mother knows more than they think.  A young child or teenager will seldom accept that their Mother or any other adult knows best.  An adult child can be the same way as well.  However, “Mother” has gained knowledge from years of experience, having most likely lived the scenario that is causing the “child” problems.

Take for instance my 19-year old son.  Ryan had somehow managed to get a shard of glass embedded in the bottom of his foot.  After looking at the injury and trying to remove it with a pair of tweezers, I told him that he could do one of two things:

1.  Wait for the glass to work itself out.

2.  Go to the doctor and have the glass cut out.

Believe me; I know from experience what I am talking about.   A few years ago I had to have a tiny shard of glass cut out from the bottom of my foot.  I went two weeks before making the decision to go to the doctor.  It hurt like heck, but had to be done.

Ryan, though, decided to go the crazy blonde route.  He let his older sister attempt to help him.  I amusingly watched as Amber proceeded to do minor surgery on her brother with hydrogen peroxide, a steak knife, and tweezers.  He squirmed in pain as she slowly stabbed his foot with the steak knife and then tried the tweezers to get to the glass out with no results.  When she was gone I looked again at his foot again and gave him two options:

1.  Wait for the glass to work itself out.

2.  Go to the doctor and have the glass cut out.

Neither of these options included letting his older sister stick the bottom of his foot with a steak knife!

