Tags

, , , ,

The past few weeks have been a whirlwind of change for our family with the death of my Father-in-Law and the birth our our first Grandbaby, Harper Ann.  Life and death can have such emotion that it is exasperating. So many things are going through my mind, so much to think about, worry about, be happy about.  We said goodbye to one life and hello to another.

While I contemplated giving a blow-by-blow account of the birth of Harper in this post, I decided that was not the way to go.  I have posted many pictures and happy thoughts on Facebook, so actually, that part is already taken care of.  This blog, while including my family, is mostly dedicated to the humor I see everyday in my life.  So here we go…..

Last night I spent the night with my daughter and her baby at the hospital to help out.  Amber had an emergency C-section, so the adjustment to motherhood was a little bit tougher.  I got the joy of sleeping on the very comfortable bed/couch provided for family in the room.  When I say comfortable, I am really full of crap.  Whoever designed that stupid couch was on crack.  It was a long night for both baby and mother, so I only remember sleeping for maybe an hour or two.  However, in that short time I had one of the weirdest dreams ever.  I should have been having happy baby dreams, but no, not me.

In my dream, Amber and I were at a strip club. For the record, I don’t frequent strip clubs, so do even go there.  She was in her hospital gown pushing around her IV pole, not looking very happy to say the least.  Strange men kept coming up to her and putting dollar bills in a pocket in her gown.

She looked at me, quite pissed, and said “What are we doing here?”

Of course, I just said “Honey, smile, take the money, and run.  Harper needs a college fund!”

Don’t worry, I promise, no more strip clubs and dreams, it was just way too weird even for me.

