Tags

, , , ,

Traveling with my children when they were younger was never an enjoyable experience.  Amber is two and one half years older than Ryan, so they never really got along until just a few years ago.  Needless to say, there have been many bloody noses , mostly on Ryan’s part after getting popped by his sister.  Just driving across town with the two of them fighting in the back seat was enough to drive one insane!  In fact,  I remember diving down Crawford Street in Salina, Kansas as a medium-sized metal toy truck was flung at me, striking me in the back of the head.  Apparently Ryan planned to bean his sister with it, let it go, and nailed me.  I slammed on the brakes of the car in the middle of the street, pulled over, and refused to start the car back up until they could stop fighting.  They finally behaved and off we went, with my head throbbing away.

Cars were not the only difficulty in traveling with small children.  When Ryan was three we decided to take an impromptu trip to Disneyworld.  The only problem was that we wouldn’t all be able to sit together on the way to Atlanta, Georgia, our layover.  Robert decided to take Amber and Ryan sat with me.  Not a wise decision to say the least.  Ryan spent the entire flight either crying, kicking the seat ahead of him, or screaming.  At one point he even stood up and lobbed a toy across the seats nailing some guy in the head. Thank goodness this was before Homeland Security because he probably would have been arrested as a terrorist, not just a terror.

Once we hit Atlanta, Ryan had settled down a bit, much to my pleasure.  However, I informed Robert that he was taking Ryan for the next half of flight while Amber sat with me.  We were separated by many seats so I didn’t know how well Ryan was behaving on the flight to Florida, but I couldn’t hear him, so maybe that was a good

Ryan, age 5

sign.  On the other hand, I felt it was only fair that my Husband get a little payback for what I had to put up with earlier.  That was not to be though.  After the plane had unboarded, the stewardesses had to wake up my Husband and Ryan to get off the plane.  So not fair!

