Tags

, , , ,

I have never been fond of going to the doctor or the emergency room when something happens to myself.  This is not because I am afraid of the doctor, but because I am frugal.  Take for example my last little trip to the ER.  The entire thing plus hospital stay ended up costing over $20,000.  Fortunately we have health insurance, but we still have to pay our portion.  It seems like one doctor bill gets paid and a new one shows up on your doorstep.  It’s a never ending battle.

Sometimes I refuse to go to the ER because of time constraints or when the kids were little because no one was able to watch them for me.  The latter was the case when I broke my finger and possibly fractured my wrist years ago. My husband worked night shift and wasn’t home when I slipped off the back porch putting the dogs out in the middle of the night.  It was icy and I should have been more careful, but that doesn’t always matter when it comes to ice.  I flew off the steps and landed on my right hand, hearing more than one crack.  By the time I made it into the house my wrist was throbbing and I didn’t even want to look at my hand, but I had too.  My middle finger was not only obviously broken but standing straight up!  Talk about some serious pain.

We lived in a small town at the time that didn’t have a doctor in the emergency room over night, just one on call.  I knew that I would have to wait quite awhile for the doctor to come in to fix my wrist and finger.  That wasn’t going to work since both kids were under three at the time and my husband wasn’t home to watch them.  Both my parents and in-laws were out of town as well.  There was no WAY I was going to drag two screaming children to the emergency room unless I was on the verge of death.  So, I iced my finger and wrist for awhile, had a few shots of vodka, then did the unthinkable.  I grabbed my finger with my left hand, pulled up and then out, straightening it.  It’s remarkable that the kids didn’t wake up or the police didn’t come to my door, because I did my fair share of screaming.  Once the pain settled down, I splinted my finger and wrapped both it and my wrist.  I never did go to the doctor, but probably should have.

So, while it is possible to fix your own broken finger, it isn’t something that I would ever suggest.  Pain pills or a shot sure would have helped.  At least my finger isn’t crooked, so I guess it could have been worse.

