Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday evening I had the joy of watching my granddaughter, Harper, while her mother was at work.  I went to Amber’s pick up Harper and then the plan was for Amber to come to our house after work to pick her up.  Not to be, as is everything else in my life.  As Amber and I walked down the stairs from her apartment with the baby, she realized she had locked her keys inside.  Not good news since I didn’t have my key either.  It wasn’t the worst thing in the world, I just took her to work and then planned to come pick her up afterwards.  Guess what?  As usual, that didn’t work out either.

Harper and I had a very nice, quiet, and extremely unpredictable evening.  She really is a good baby. That is until I put her in her car seat to head to Amber’s work at 10:35 p.m.  It was cold and snowy, so I took my time heading into town, which didn’t help Harper become any happier.  She decided to cry at the top of her lungs all the way.  Even over the crying I could hear a strange thumping sound.  I planned to stop at the gas station to check on Harper and figured I would see what all the noise was about.  Well, the thumping was a flat tire.  This was totally my fault.  I usually check the tires before I go anywhere and neglected to do so because Harper wasn’t happy about being in the car seat.  Great…what was I going to do now?  I do know how to change a tire, but with snow and a baby?  Thank goodness I have roadside assist for the car.

I called the insurance company and they were sending someone out in about thirty minutes.  This of course didn’t make Amber very happy.  Poor thing walked over to her brothers and caught a ride to her apartment (she had a key by that time).  In the meantime, Harper and I hung out in the gas station which worked out OK for her.  I was exhausted but she was amazed staring at the bright lights on the ceiling.  I also got to spend some quality time speaking to the cashier, a very nice man with eleven kids.  My two were enough for me to handle, I couldn’t imagine having eleven.

Finally the roadside assist guy came and got the tire changed to my spare about the same time that Amber pulled up to pick up Harper.  That was much appreciated so I could just drive home and not go further into town.  God was looking out for me on the way home though, because Bambi, his mom, dad, and little sister all decided to run out in front me.

Deer jerkey

I manged to slam on the brakes and skid around them.  Otherwise we would be having deer jerky for Christmas.

OK, lesson learned.  Always check the tires before leaving the house, especially if Harper is with me.

