Tags

, , , ,

Spaghetti squash with mushrooms

 

I am on a cooking kick lately and thought I would share some of my favorite recipes now and then.  Most of these are recipes that I made myself since I am always experimenting.

 

 

 

Spaghetti Squash and Mushrooms

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms or 1 can (whatever is easiest)
  • garlic to taste (fresh, in a jar, or powdered)
  • dried or fresh onions to taste
  • 2 TBSP olive oil
  • 2 TBSP margarine or butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cut spaghetti squash in half and remove seeds.  Place both halves in baking pan with a little garlic and butter, then bake for 30 minutes or until squash seems tender.  Let cool, then take a spoon and remove the inside of the squash into a frying pan that has the olive oil in it. The squash will look like spaghetti, hence the name.  Add mushrooms, more garlic, onions, and whatever other seasonings sound good.  Cook on medium until the mushrooms are done.  A little shredded cheese will add extra flavor.

Instead of fresh garlic, I usually cook with garlic pepper or minced garlic in a jar.  I also use dried onions instead of fresh only for the simplicity.  Hope you enjoy!

Baked spaghetti squash with garlic and butter

Cooking on medium

Spaghetti squash and mushrooms

