Tags

, , , ,

You'll Get Used To It

Starry Night

Muscle car posters and calendars with naked women on them.  Not the images that I want to see all day while working in my office. Yet, this is the kind of “artwork” that my husband wants to hang on the wall since we now share the space.  I have no problem if he wishes to hang a few muscle car posters on his side of the room since my favorite Civil War map is going on mine.  However, the wall with the loveseat is a shared space, so no way will there be boobs and Firebirds.

Earlier this week I found a nice, classic print of Starry Night by Vincent van Gogh.  I have always loved this painting and can got lost in the magic of it.  Besides, the colors go well with the couch and new paint without being overly feminine.  It’s not like I hung up a picture of a fuzzy bunny or a little kitty. My husband made a point to tell me that he didn’t like it and he wants it come down.  Of course, I just pretended not to hear him.  This was three days ago and the van Gogh is still there.

Such has been the way when it comes to decorating our home.  I do the work, find the items (furniture, paint, etc.) so I make the choices on what styles and colors.  What my husband doesn’t realize is that he really does have the same taste as me.  It just takes him a little longer to like it.  It’s kind of like that quote from the movie Mr. and Mrs. Smith with Brat Pitt and Angelina Jolie.  Mrs. Smith has hung new curtains and asks Mr. Smith’s opinon.

“Jane Smith: If you don’t like them we can take them back.
John Smith: All right, I don’t like them.
Jane Smith: [pause] You’ll get used to them.” (“Mr. & Mrs. Smith ,” 2011)
That’s right honey, it’s not a mancave, you’ll get used to the van Gogh.
Reference:
Mr. & Mrs. Smith . (2011). Retrieved from http://www.moviefanatic.com/quotes/about-the-new-curtains-jane-bought-if-you-dont-like-them-we-can/
