Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Awesome pizza

Well, today was the Super Bowl and I know that the Giants played (I think) but I am not sure who the other team was.  I don’t care much for sports and definitely don’t like football.  However, it was a good excuse to forgo the healthy eating and make some good old-fashioned hamburger pizza.  I even put real cheese, not the veggie cheese, on my portions (although I paid for it later).  But it was way worth it. So, on that note, here is my favorite pizza recipe.  Now, most of my recipes vary each time I  cook them because I rarely follow actual recipes.  I just kind of make up my own or have changed ones I have found over the years.  This recipe includes pizza dough made in a bread machine, but packaged dough mix can be used instead.

Pizza dough

  • 3 cups flour  or bread flour
  • 2 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp minced onion

Add all ingredients to bread machine and set on the dough cycle.  My bread machine takes 1 1/2 hours to make the dough.  After it is done spread out in greased pizza pan or rectangle pan.  Allow to rise for 15 minutes for thicker crust.  If you like thin crust, this can be divided into two pizza crusts. Preheat oven to 450 degrees then bake crust for about 5 minutes.  Remove the crust from the oven and top with your favorite toppings.

The pizza can be topped with whatever toppings you choose, but this is how I made today’s pizza.

Pizza Toppings

  • 1 medium can of pizza sauce
  • 1 lb hamburger
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms (I used dehydrated ones because I had then on hand)
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 1/2 cup grated mozzarella cheese

Rehydrate any dehydrated vegetables you are using in a little water for about fifteen minutes.  I dehydrate a lot of fruit and vegetables to use in cooking.  Cut up remainder of vegetables and place all the vegetables into a frying pan with the hamburger.  Cook on medium until hamburger is done, then drain the grease.  Spread pizza sauce onto crust and then spread the hamburger mixture on top.  Sprinkle both the cheddar and mozzarella cheese on top.  Bake at 450 degrees for about twenty minutes or until cheese is melted and pizza looks done.

Pizza dough rising in bread machine

Hamburger and vegetable mix

Getting ready to add the cheese

