Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

For the longest time I had an antique rug in front of the fireplace.  It was from circa 1920 and I loved that rug, yet was starting to fray a bit and didn’t deserve to be stomped on by four dogs and three cats, so I sold it.  I didn’t want to spend $200 or more on a new rug, so some hunting and scavenging was in store for me.

A while back a new Habitat for Humanity ReStore opened in town. Restores sell used building materials in good condition and at great prices.  I love thrift shops, garage sales, and craigslist.org, so it didn’t take long for me to check it out.  I was able to find a large piece of Berber carpet that had obviously been removed from a room.  The color was a light cream but not the color I was looking for.  It also had a dark stain in one corner.  However, priced at a whopping $9, it wasn’t something that I could pass up either.

The stain was covered easily by furniture and I cut the carpet to fit.  The cutting left the edges looking frayed so ribbon (bought on clearance after Christmas) was glued on.  Although this made the carpet look decent enough, the color just didn’t go with the rest of the house. While surfing the net for options I came across a site about painting carpet.  It seems that Berber is the perfect carpet to paint.

So with a can of left-over maroon paint and a brush, I went to work.  It only took about 45 minutes to paint and then over night to dry.  I figured at the time it would need several coats, but have decided that I like the brush-stroke look.  Besides, if I get tired of it I can always add that second coat.

Before picture

 

